Samsung needs to hurry with the Hercules

I use to dream about this thing...

I know, I know…you’re getting tired of me talking about the Hercules, but the blogosphere has been buzzing about it lately, so I have to give my two cents.

When I first heard about the Samsung Hercules a few months back, I was SOOO excited for it. The fact that it was going to be a Galaxy S II variant on T-Mobile but with a 4.5-inch Super AMOLED Plus display made me want it pretty badly. However, my excitement has slowly diminished. I feel like by the time this thing actually comes out, which is rumored to be on October 26, it’ll be somewhat outdated with Ice Cream Sandwich¬†and the next Nexus’ release right around the corner.

I’m guessing the next Nexus will be available some time between October and December. If so, there’s really no reason to go for the Hercules unless you really want the 4.5-inch screen…then again, how do we know the Nexus won’t also have a 4.5-inch display? When it launches, the Hercules will be a powerful device in its own right, but after waiting so long, I’ve gotten to the point where I feel like better things are RIGHT around the corner. I’ve already waited this long, why not wait a few more weeks for better and more up-to-date software and hardware. Basically, if the Nexus is going to sport the next generation of Super AMOLED, then my decision will be to skip the Hercules and wait for it. However, if the Nexus’ specs are only marginally better, then I might end up getting the Hercules for its big screen and nice build quality (assuming the recently leaked pictures are truly showing the Hercules with a metal back). I’m pretty sure there are many of you out there who are kinda on the same boat as me. With that said, if Samsung wants to maximize their number of Hercules sales, they gotta hurry up and release this thing before any official news of the Nexus Prime is released. Agree?

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “Samsung needs to hurry with the Hercules

  1. Larry says:

    Excellent article!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

