Galaxy S II or Nexus Prime?

 VS. 

I’ve been asking myself this question all Summer and with the release of the Galaxy S II on Sprint and AT&T coming up in a few days, I’m starting to get very antsy about switching carriers. So, like a normal human being, I like to draw out the pros and cons of two things when deciding on one of them. As such, I’ve seriously thought out probably every single reason why I would rather get the Nexus Prime over the Galaxy S II AND vice versa. Truth is, both devices have certain things about them that I REALLY like, some more than others, which makes it very hard to decide. Let’s break this comparison down…

Android Version/Skin – 2.3.4 Gingerbread (SGSII) vs. 4.0 Ice Cream Sandwich (NP)

  • Okay, like yourselves I am totally dying of anticipation when it comes to Ice Cream Sandwich. With all the hype that’s been going around, how could you not be excited?! This new version of Android is said to bridge the gap between Honeycomb and Gingerbread, combining the elements from both to produce an ultimate Android experience. That’s all we really got right now in terms of ICS…the hype and mysticism behind the unknown. It’s going to be a SERIOUS letdown if ICS doesn’t deliver and live up to the hype.
  • On the other hand, the facts about Gingerbread on the SGSII along with Samsung’s custom user interface (TouchWiz 4.0) are as widely known as the alphabet. DISCRETION: I TOTALLY REALIZE THAT I’M GOING TO GET FLAMED FOR THIS…IN FACT, SOME OF YOU MIGHT EVEN LOSE ANY TINY AMOUNTS OF RESPECT YOU MAY HAVE FOR THE THINGS THAT I SAY AFTER THIS, BUT HERE GOES…I actually LIKE TouchWiz 4.0! Before all you purist fanboys get all lame on me, listen to the reasons why I like TouchWiz 4. The UI adds A LOT of cool features and functionality that I think enhances Android in ways that vanilla Gingerbread or any version of Android before it can achieve. Here are a few examples: sliding finger across page indicators to quickly slide across homescreens is very efficient, the way resizing of widgets is handled is great, the various applications of the accelerometer in things like zooming and moving icons around, toggles in the notification bar, sliding left or right on a contact to directly call or message them is super convenient, enhancements to core apps like the music player and messaging app, etc. Unlike the purists out there, I personally believe that TouchWiz 4 does a great job in making things easier and FASTER to accomplish, and I like being able to do things FAST, with the least amount of gestures as possible. So hmph!
41042
Processor – Samsung Exynos (SGSII; Sprint/AT&T) vs. Texas Instrument OMAP 4s? (NP)
  • Some rumors have been floating around that the NP will actually be rocking a dual-core processor from TI, not Samsung. If this is true, it’s going to be a huge turn off for me. One big reason why I want a new smartphone is to be able to run games as smooth as possible at the highest frame rates possible. Today I read an article on Android and Me about a series of GPU tests that Anandtech performed. Their results indicated that the Exynos’ GPU (Mali-400) outperforms that of MANY competing dual-core chips, including TI’s OMAP 4s! Seeing as to how I want to use my future device to play games at the very best frame rates, the NP’s potential TI OMAP 4 processor might not satisfy my needs =(
Display – Samsung Super AMOLED Plus (SGSII) vs. Samsung Super AMOLED Plus @ 720p? (NP)
  • It makes it even harder to decide when most of the rumored specs on the NP are well, RUMORS. If the NP does indeed come with the next iteration of Super AMOLED, that’ll be a huge point in favor of the NP. I want to be able to show off any future iPhone 5 owner with a 720p display!
4G – WiMax (SGSII; Sprint) vs. 3G/4G? (NP)
  • When the Nexus S released without support for T-Mobile’s HSPA+ 4G network last year, I was like WTF? 4G is QUICKLY becoming a huge feature in current and future smartphones. The technology is growing fast and is proving to be very powerful. If the NP doesn’t support T-Mobile’s 4G when it releases (I’m currently on T-Mobile by the way) I’m going steer very closely to Sprint’s SGSII with it’s WiMax support. Sure, there may not be many needs for such data speeds on a smartphone, but I’m sure if you HAD the capability, you’d DEFINITELY find ways to put it to use. I plan on gaming online, streaming NetFlix, and downloading a bunch of stuff, from videos to music.
Cameras – 8 MP rear, 2 MP front (SGSII) vs. 5 MP rear, 1 MP front? (NP)
  • Those NP camera specs are just rumors and I know MP doesn’t necessarily translate to better image quality, but Samsung’s original Galaxy S line of phones had a 5 MP camera and they performed VERY well. Now this is an assumption…wait I take that back, it’s a hypothesis (EDUCATED guess), Samsung’s 8 MP cameras will be the shiz-nit. Sure, you can argue and say that the NP’s 5 MP and 1 MP cameras will have upgraded sensors and lenses that will match the current 8 MP and 2 MP cameras on the SGSII, but it’s really hard to talk smack to an iPhone user and compare specs without the numbers…they’re just gonna say, “My iPhone 5′s camera is 8 MP, how many does your NP have?” As soon as you say 5, you’ve already lost in their minds, forget mentioning those “upgraded sensors and lenses.”
Okay, so those are some of the things that I keep pondering about while trying to decide if I want to stick with T-Mobile and wait for their GSM NP, or hop over to Sprint come September 16 and grab the Epic 4G Touch (Sprint’s SGSII). Tough decisions, but I think I’ve made at least SOME valid points here.
Alex Nguyen, Founder
Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

